Awards & Scholarships: ARPA Awards

We believe Albertans should be recognized for their achievements and contributions to recreation and parks in our province!

All awards have an online, stream-lined nomination process.

Award nominations for 2019 are now open.

Deadline for award nominations is June 30th, 2019. 

ARPA Award Categories

General Parks Children & Youth

1. AABRD Legacy Award
2. A.V. Pettigrew Award
3. Barbara Hill Merit Award
4. Wildrose Award

1. Parks Excellence Award 1. Excellence in Youth Development Award
2. Rick Curtis HIGH FIVE Award

If you need technical support applying for an award, or have other questions, please contact

AABRD Legacy Award

The AABRD Legacy Award recognizes the achievements of individuals, communities, and organizations that strive to advance integrated recreation opportunities for people with disabilities.

In 1972, the Alberta Advisory Board on Recreation for the Disabled (AABRD) was formed to act as a catalyst in the promotion of recreation services for people with disabilities. Twelve years later, the AABRD felt that it had fulfilled its primary objective and entrusted the selection and distribution of its awards and scholarships to the Alberta Recreation and Parks Association.

Support for the AABRD Award is provided through a Legacy Fund, managed by Alberta Sport Connection.

Award Criteria         

Communities, community organizations, schools, health care facilities, or individuals in Alberta that have been instrumental to the development of a project, program, or facility contributing to recreational opportunities for individuals with disabilities will be considered. 

Submit a nomination for the AABRD Legacy Award

Past Recipients


A.V. Pettigrew Award

The A.V. Pettigrew Award is presented in honour of Albert (Bert) Victor Pettigrew, a founding and charter member of the Alberta Recreation and Parks Association. Known to many in Alberta and Western Canada as “Mr. Recreation” or the “Dean of Recreation,” Bert retired in October 1972 from the Edmonton Parks and Recreation Department after 26 years of devoted service to Edmonton citizens.

In honour of his years of service to the people of Alberta and his profession, ARPA inaugurated the A.V. Pettigrew Award in 1972.

Award Criteria

Communities or Organizations that have made a significant impact on improving the quality of life of citizens through recreation and parks will be considered.

Submit a nomination for the A.V. Pettigrew Award

Past Recipients


Barbara Hill Merit Award

The prestigious Barbara Hill Merit Award honours individuals or groups who have contributed significantly to ARPA through recreation or parks development in Alberta. Nominees include practitioners, volunteer leaders or board members in any recreation or park related agency.

This award is named in memory of Barbara Hill, who was a dedicated leader and volunteer with ARPA for over 35 years.

Award Criteria

Nominees must be current members of ARPA and have made outstanding contributions towards furthering the goals of the Association.

Submit a nomination for the Barbara Hill Merit Award

Past Recipients


Wild Rose Award

The prestigious Wild Rose Award recognizes individuals or community service organizations for their dedication to recreation and parks, be it professional, lay or philosophic. It may be awarded to recognize professional or significant personal involvement or long service in support of recreation or parks endeavours on a provincial level.

Award Criteria

Nominees must have made a significant or outstanding contribution to recreation, culture, or parks endeavours. Local and regional contributions are recognized, however, impact at the provincial level is required.

Submit a nomination for the Wild Rose Award

Past Recipients


Parks Excellence Award

The Parks Excellence Award was initiated by ARPA's Parks and Open Space Network to recognize achievements or innovative ideas in parks and open space operations and increase the profile of parks and open space professionals in Alberta.

Award Criteria

Eligible applicants may represent, but are not limited to the following areas:

  • Municipalities
  • Private enterprise
  • Not-for-profit groups
  • Educational and healthcare institutions
  • Golf courses
  • Achievements and innovations will be judged using the "Benefits of Recreation: Personal, Social, Economic, Environmental" as an evaluation tool.

Submit a nomination for the Parks Excellence Award

Past Recipients


Excellence in Youth Development Award

The Excellence in Youth Development Award recognizes excellence in projects that focus on youth recognition and use a youth development model.

The award was created during the 2003 National Youth Development through Recreation Services Symposium held in Calgary.

Award Criteria

The nominated initiative must reflect the principles of youth development (youth ages 12 to 18) and recreation, and meet the following requirements:

  • The project's focus is youth recreation.
  • The project is a partnership or involves a collaboration of organizations and agencies involved with youth.
  • One member of the partnership is an ARPA member.
  • Youth, themselves, are directly involved in the planning/decision making of the project.

Submit a nomination for the Excellence in Youth Development Award

Past Recipients


Rick Curtis HIGH FIVE Award

The Rick Curtis HIGH FIVE Award is presented in honour of former ARPA CEO Rick Curtis. Curtis believed strongly that recreation and sport were integral to the healthy development of children and youth. HIGH FIVE was one of the many children and youth initiatives that Rick fervently promoted. HIGH FIVE® is a Canadian quality assurance framework designed to support the safety, well-being and healthy development of children ages 6-12 in recreation and sport programs.

Award Criteria

The nominee must be an organization that has embraced the principles of HIGH FIVE® in their programs and in their practices with children aged 6-12 years of age.

It may be a municipality, county, community or non-profit organization.

Submit a nomination for the Rick Curtis HIGH FIVE Award

Past Recipients