Programs: Communities Choosewell



ChooseWell Healthy Community Awards

Are there good things happening in your community to promote wellbeing through physical activity and/or healthy eating? If so, nominate your community for a Healthy Community Award! Nominations will open in early summer, 2019.

Communities will be recognized across five different population groups and four categories, including:

Creating Supportive Environments
Providing Health Education
Building Community Capacity
Developing Healthy Policies

One community will also be chosen as the Overall Healthy Community Champion, and ChooseWell Champions will have the opportunity to select the recipient of the Most Significant Community Change Award through a voting process, based on information you provide in your nomination. 

You can also nominate a local elected or appointed official for the Community Wellness Leadership Award, recognizing elected leaders who are champions for wellness in their communities:

Contact the ChooseWell staff at or (780) 415-1745 if you have any questions.

2018 Award Winners

Overall Healthy Community Champion: Town of Pincher Creek

Most Significant Community Change: Town of Banff

Community Wellness Leadership Award: Judy Acres, Councillor, Town of Viking

Developing Healthy Policies Award: 

Dene Tha' First Nation
Town of Sexsmith
Town of Chestermere
Strathcona County

Providing Health Education Award: 

Boys and Girls Clubs of Calgary
Stoney Nakoda Nation
Siksika Nation
Heloise Lorimer School
Wood Buffalo

Building Community Capacity Award: 

Village of Delburne
Town of Bashaw
City of Lacombe
City of Lethbridge

Creating Supportive Environments Award: 

Village of Longview
Town of Claresholm
Town of Ponoka
Town of Strathmore
Edmonton Native Healing Centre

2017 Award Winners

Overall Healthy Communtiy Wellness Champion: Hamlet of Fort McKay

Most Significant Communtiy Change Award: Siksika Nation

Community Wellness Leadership Award: Nicole Cooke, Councillor, Town of Sexsmith

2016 Award Winners

Overall Healthy Community Wellness Champion: Town of Coaldale

Most Significant Community Change Award: Town of Slave Lake

Community Wellness Leadership Award: Dave Anderson, Strathcona County Councillor, Ward 2